On Animal Welfare

Rob
edited December 1969 in General
Hi, everyone, I'm new here, came across the site by googling "animal welfare" (see http://www.madeira-island.com/interactive/forums/read.php?1,7626 with comments from 2004-2008). Can anyone give me an update on how you feel the situation is nowadays? I've been staying in Arco da Calheta for 4 Months, going back to Scandinavia in Mid January 2011, and we've enjoyed our stay on this beautiful island with its friendly people - though schocked, as many others, to see the bad treatment of animals, espec. dogs. As some point out in the ref. post, there has been progress (which makes me glad :) but I can still witness many of our neighbours being very uneducated in animal welfare. There is still a great need for education of the population regarding this issue, there is a need for "culture building" as we say in Scandinavia, and I have a few ideas myself.

Newspaper articles, adoptions, personal contacts, and sterilization are all good measures, and it seems SPAD (http://www.spadfnc.org) are doing much good in several of these areas. (I'm glad to donate a small amount to them now, more will come.) I hope to go visit SPAD before we leave. And, I've fallen in love with a small and cute but very frightened neighbour dog which I would love to buy/adopt - it's owner is an old lady never taking it out for walks, keeping it in a short chain in the shadows of her garden, even in the storms we've seen lately :( She seems friendly and nice enough, but again it's all about ignorance and "bad" culture.