moving to madeira

edited December 1969 in General
Hello everyone
I have been reading the threads with interest and gained a lot of insight from the information posted here so thank you for that. However if anyone can help us with any info on the following we would be very grateful....

My husband is Madeiran (now 42 left at 11) his parents returned in 2005 (live in Canico). There is a three bedroomed family apartment in Funchal (not far from the old fort) that we can move to so this would be a good start. We have a nine year old boy. My husband is fluent in portuguese and is a painter and decorator by trade, My son and I cannot speak the language although we are trying to learn. I am a complaints manager in the NHS but have also worked in mental health, learning disabilites, cared for older people and also run pubs! I am also a qualified reflexologist. My husband is longing to come 'home' and so we are seriously considering our options at the moment. We are trying to establish how much does it cost to live in Madeira (for a family of three) - taking everything into consideration?? Whilst we are lucky not to need a mortgage -it would seem likely that our son will need to go to an international school and so there will be private tuition fees for this - we are trying to establish from the outset the likelyhood of my husband being able to get a job and maintain the family on a single wage
many thanks for any insight you can give

Comments

• Hi, I can understand your husband's longing to come back, as I also lived in a foreign country for a number of years, but feel more at home in Madeira - no wonder, it's my real home!

We have a high unemployment rate here, so it may not be easy for your husband to find a job, but it's worth a try, especially if he's prepared to do anything. The vast work experince you have will be favourable, when seeking for a job.