thinking of moving to Funchal, ? about work etc...

edited December 1969 in General
Hello. I am considering coming to Funchal to live and work. I am wondering if it is realistic or not. I am an experienced English teacher with a BA and CELTA certificate, and I am also a rolfer and craniosacral therapist. I have 12 years experience as a rolfer.

I'm a Canadian man who has been living in Sao Paulo for six months, and I speak some Portuguese, although of course it's Brazilian Portuguese.

What do you think? I would love to live on your beautiful island, offer my services to the people, and become part of the community there?

Are there possibilities for me there?
Is it possible to get a work visa?
Would there be a market for my services?
How is the cost of living?

Best to all,
bodywise

Comments

• There is an English school here together with another for adults, but not sure about employment. As regards your other skills, there are countless clinics and physio's, all offering the type of service you would do.Remember also that Madeiran people do not have much wealth either.
    I believe that if you come from a non EU country you can only stay for the duration of a holiday period, you would need to take advise from the Portugese embassy regards that.
    The cost of living , relative to the wage structure here, is high, eg apartments usually cost around 300 euros upwards, food cost is reasonable services are reasonable but the average wage is only around 500 - 600 euros per month.There is no social security payments available to top up salaries so usually both parents will work and family members see to the children.