Madeira Island
  home : museums : quinta das cruzes    





  Quinta das Cruzes Museum  

The Quinta das Cruzes or "Manor Estate of the Crosses" museum opened in 1952 as one of the most prestigious and well kept museums of Madeira. The fine collection of silver, filigree and antiques are the legacy and collection of the private collector César Gomes. In 1966 the collection was supplemented with the private collection of fine and valuable decorative items of John Wetzler - a Czech citizen who resided on Madeira. The combined donations of these philanthropists reveal a remarkable and awesome collection of some uniquely Madeiran relics and antiques. Porcelain, furniture of rare woods, glazed pottery, marble, cutlery and many other household ornaments, even little mangers that any good catholic home would boast off, for example, during the Christmas celebrations of the holy holidays in the nineteenth century, are open to public enthusement. The collection is exemplary and special in that it helps portray the old Madeiran social life at its best. It educates us to understand the etiquette customs of the sixteenth through to the nineteenth centuries on Madeira. Showing the visitor in typical fashion the way any fine lord or gracious nobleman would have lived on the island.

The old and historic mansion that holds the collection dates back from the early origins of colonisation and was probably used by the first Donee Generals and their successors as their official residence. The landscaped garden that holds the manor estate spreads over 1 hectare of very valuable land in the centre of Funchal. It was acquired by the local authorities precisely for the purposes of displaying the valuable and rich collection left to future generations by the illustrious collectors.

Some of the furniture on display valuable examples of renaissance through to romantic craftsmanship and woodwork: cabinets and chests made from the excellent wood found on the island dating from the seventeenth century, Indo-Portuguese desks dating from the sixteenth century and many other English and Portuguese style furniture dating from between the seventeenth and nineteenth centuries.

Many pieces of marble on display include examples of Indo-Portuguese and European craftsmanship. Rare examples of Chinese porcelain, glazed pottery manufactured by the Portuguese, silver and filigree design of Portuguese and foreign origin, all dating from the through the fifteenth through to the nineteenth century are also on display. Clay and other works of art of local Madeiran artists from through the previous centuries are also found.

A unique point of interest to many visitors and guests of the museum are the several Manueline windows (a style of architecture which flourished in Portugal during the reign of King Manuel I , 1495-1521) which are embedded into several parts of the garden after they were rescued from several buildings that were either torn down or left to careless misuse. An important altar panel dating from the eighteenth century is also edified in the garden.

An archaeological garden was built on the premises with many commemorative tombstones dating from the fifteenth through to the nineteenth centuries supplanted to and preserved by the museum. There is a very good example of the classic style of Portuguese coat of arms masonry on the archaeological spread. Alongside and in stark contrast to the preservation theme of the museum an orchid garden and nursery presides in operation. Visitors are welcome to admire the orchids, and their method of cultivation, which are collected and grown from endemic specimens of Madeira.


More Info :

  • Opening Times:
    Tuesdays to Saturdays:
    Open from 10H00 to 12H30 and from 14H30 to 17H30

    Open from 10H00 to 12H30

    Closed on Mondays and Public Holidays

  • Contact:
    Cassia Museu Quinta das Cruzes
    Calçada do Pico, 1
    9000 Funchal

    Tel: (351 91) 74 13 82
    (351 91) 74 13 84

  • Admission:
HotBot Search for